Posted by: beattieblog | April 6, 2008

God is watching…

Lastjudgement.jpg

“Ryan, don’t you know that some day you will stand before God and the world and everything you’ve done will be shown?!” Yikes! I don’t know if any of you have ever thought about this or had it used as a way to remind you to be good – I did a few times. And you know, the bible does say this will happen. Here’s Romans 14:12 & I Corinthians 3:13:

12 So then, each of us will be accountable to God.”

13 the work of each builder will become visible, for the Day will disclose it, because it will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test what sort of work each has done.”

Not surprisingly, these verses have done little more than elicit fear and shame – how many of us want our actions played out on some inter-galactic big screen for everyone who’s ever lived to see? Well, at least that’s the way it’s been portrayed by many Christian parents over the years to try and get their kids to shape up. But for whatever reason, I’ve been thinking alot about these verses lately . And, maybe it was the Lord, but they really began to shift for me. I think it was sparked by watching the recent Frontline episode “Bush’s War“, specifically the section in part one, “Cheney’s Secret Plan for Handling Detainees” – but it could have been some tragic story of kids being abused, or the modern human slave-trade, or the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr.  Anyways, I was thinking about these things and recently wondering where the justice was for the multitudes who’ve suffered in the dark and died with no justice in this world.  And as I was having a  Psalm 94 moment thinking, “There’s no justice for those who suffer at the hands of the powerful!”, it was like God said, “I am their justice and one day all will be known.” Huh, really? That’s the answer? How much do I trust this? How much comfort can I take from some future, epic and mysterious day when some kind of something will happen? And then it did sink in. I began to imagine all those who’ve suffered in the face of the powerful, who’ve had no advocate and no justice this side of death – one day they will stand and the truth of what happened to them will be known. Thinking of my country’s history, one day we’ll know whether or not James Earl Ray shot MLK Jr. and all those lynched, beaten, raped, murdered and swindled will have justice. And I suppose intellectually I knew all along this was true. But for me, it was a powerful and helfpul realization that penetrated beyond just my head – and another reason I put my hope in Jesus.

Responses

  1. […] from infants to the elderly. It’s a story of truth-telling, cover-ups and some redemption (hope for more). Today, there is a medical clinic in El Mozote named after the only survivor of the massacre, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

