Posted by: beattieblog | March 19, 2009

Study Break with Brett Dennen

brett_dennenA friend, Teresa, posted this on her Facebook and it caught my attention. Very compelling message from “Ain’t No Reason” by Brett Dennen – here’s one verse and the chorus:

Prison walls still standing tall,
Some things never change at all.
Keep on buildin’ prisons, gonna fill them all,
Keep on buildin’ bombs, gonna drop them all.
Working your fingers bear to the bone,
Breaking your back, make you sell your soul.
Like a lung that’s filled with coal, suffocatin’ slow.
The wind blows wild and I may move,
The politicians lie and I am not fooled.
You don’t need no reason or a three piece suit to argue the truth.
The air on my skin and the world under my toes,
Slavery stitched into the fabric of my clothes,
Chaos and commotion wherever I go, love I try to follow.

Love will come set me free
Love will come set me free, I do believe
Love will come set me free, I know it will
Love will come set me free, yes.

Responses

  1. It’s funny, but there seems to be a trend of songs being about morals coming around. Not that there always good morals, but, well, listen to this song; (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5kbBxv9XPo) and you’ll see what I mean. Two songs doesn’t make a trend, I know, but even listen to the End for an hour and you’ll hear it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

